maebelle

her name is maebelle.  she is my new favorite household item.  i downloaded the manual, threaded her up, and we were on our way.  it’s been pure bliss ever since.  the first masterpiece maebelle and i created was this blue felt (remember that-here’s an appropriate use) heart shaped, somewhat wonky pincushion.  i realized upon completing the cushion how desparately i need new pins.  this of course, means a trip to the sewing store.  i’ll need to find a chaperone to keep me in line.  or i could just take the children with me- they’re perfect for ensuring mama doesn’t spend too long browsing.  it’s that handy dandy middle-of-the-store breakdown screamfest, keeps me in check. 

onward we moved to the unfinished project, a sorely needed apron from nana’s housecoat.  I basically just chopped it up and made a neck tie and two back ties.  I altered the seams on the sides and added the little lace towel loop for my favorite orange towel i inherited from erich’s mom.  Here’s the finished product:

uh, please ignore the trash can figuring prominently in this photo.  and the dirty floor.  i’ve been sewing, something had to suffer!  now i’ll clean it, since i have my smashing apron to protect my ever-so-fancy khaki pants. 

3 Responses to “maebelle”

  1. Ah, congratulations on the new machine. And two things completed! Doesn’t that feel good?

  2. soooooooooo oooooo o good.

  3. Big Sissy Says:

    I’m sooooo envious! Maybe my little sis will be my inspiration to turn of the boob toob and sew, sew, sew…even with some mistakes–a couple wrongs are better than no rights!

Comments are closed.

