happy halloweeny

this is sort of cheating, as we did our halloween stuff on sunday, but i wanted to show off the costumes, so we’ll just pretend it’s happening today, m’kay?  greeeaaat. 

introducing, the Owl Family! 

here, i’m teaching my owlets how to say “whoooo”, although in fact i missed smiling with both my owlets in the only photo known to man where they are both looking at the camera AND smiling.  still cute, if you ask me. 

i just used felt (hot glued the faces and the wing stripes, then sewed them to the shirts), and made what sarah described to me in her response to the original post about making some owls, only i adapted it so that zander would wear it.  he wasn’t going for anything near his face, and actually it was only by some great distractionary techniques on my part that he kept it on at all.  oh, i also used a design from an old martha mag that had a pumpkin mask with an owl drawing that seemed good to me as a guide.   

speaking of zander’s sensitivities, we got the news this week that he is on the spectrum for autism.  while it’s a very heavy word, and i’m feeling that weight, i’m focusing on how to get him what he needs, and i really don’t feel crushed or even bogged down by it.  that said, i’m really struggling with the diet that’s become so touted to help with the behaviors associated with the disorder.  i’m not sure i can (or want to) go through with it… please share if you’ve had experience with it or know someone who has. 

so, you know when you’ve been climbing mountains in your life for a while, and then you think you’ve crested the final plateau, only to find the next ridiculous slope stretching up above you?  yeah.  that’s where i’m at, consider this your postcard.  i think though, as in all things, i could focus on the disappointment, or i can (and will) check out the view from here, strap on the harness, and climb on.  come along, please, if you’ve got the stomach for it… and i know you do. 

5 Responses to “happy halloweeny”

  1. of course i’m crying about your last paragraph. i’m here to help as much as you need me, and you know it. i love zander so much that i want to help with whatever i can. i love you owl family!!!

  2. I love the costumes! I’m sure they had tons of fun flapping about with their new wings.

    As far as Zander is concerned, I’m having a hard time thinking of what to say. I don’t want to say I’m sorry, because that won’t do anything but make you feel bad and Zander feel like a burden if he would ever read this. And I’m not really… “sorry” per se. That negates the wonderful child that I’m sure Zander is. I will say have fun with this new adventure. Learn from him and the challenges he will put forth. And remember that I am always here for you. I kinda like that curly headed little guy! ^_^ His curly haired momma is pretty swell too.

    You might want to check out little cotton rabbit’s blog. She has a son with autism and she is fabulously nice, so I’m sure she would chat with you.

  3. I have a lot of links to other blogs that deal with autism. Feel free to come check them out. The children range from very mild to severe autism. It’ll be all good. But feel free to grieve at any point. There is nothing wrong with it.

    And I LOVE their outfits. You have gorgeous children 🙂

  4. I love these costumes. You are so talented.

    Sorry to hear that Zander’s got a tough diagnosis — but a diagnosis will help him get what he needs. so there’s an upshot.

    Please to give me lessons in rolling with the punches because you do it admirably.

  5. What a clever way to make the owl costumes. My little boy was also an owl for Halloween, and it was tough to come up with a costume!

    I am sorry to hear you are struggling with an ASD diagnosis. Do you read Kirsten*can? She has a son with autism.

    Either way, I totally get that it is scary and hard and yet also a relief to find out what is going on with your kiddo.

Comments are closed.

