the cobwebs of my brain

Random thoughts for a random day (Sage had a half-day of school, which has really thrown off the balance of the day)…

I made this recipe from Karina’s Kitchen the other night when friends came over for dinner, and it was so good that I think I’ll make it again tonight, two days later.  It’s just that good.  I changed only one thing- I used one butternut squash and one acorn.  I still have about 5 delicata squash left, but those make good “squash fries” (like french fries, only squash), which Z-man loves.  I feel like I’m fighting off a bug of some kind, so soup would help.  I have tons of kale from the CSA though, maybe I’ll make a sausage/kale/black eyed pea stew instead…

Or, I might just drink tea, instead.  My friend Tracey gave me two packages of tea balls from Caribou Coffee for my birthday (I can’t find the tea balls on the website, but here’s some info about their brewed tea), and while the name is hilarious, the quality of your cup is not.  The package claims that the balls are superior b/c the innards are only tea leaves, whereas bags have a bunch of other junk.  I had two cups of Irish Breakfast, and one of Jasmine Green this morning.  This tea is so good, and I usually only love tea in the dead of winter, or when I’ve had way too much coffee elsewhere in the day.  Now, I’ve switched to Ginger Yogi, to try and soothe a yucky stomach. 

I listened to the VP debates last night for a total of eight minutes before I wanted to shove blunt, rusty objects into my eyes.  I think the question that Sarah Palin was “answering” was about climate change, but the vagueness of what she said in her answer was mind numbing, so I turned it off and went to bed. 

I’ve been really putting a lot of thought into my craft business lately.  I’ve fallen off the wagon, to an extent, kind of like I’ve fallen off the blog wagon.  This is simply not acceptable, as my little family is depending on me to bring in more income.  Our housing situation is in a major cloud of uncertainty right now, and it’s looking very grim.  But, I don’t want to get into all that here. 

This fall-off has been apparent to me, it’s not as though I didn’t see it happening, but I also sort of felt like I’ve had little control over it.  I’ve decided the reason is that I budget my time poorly.  I do budget it, but I still feel at the end of the week that I haven’t gotten much done.  I’m not sure how this can change, as I have two other people to schedule around, a 22 hour a week day job, and three side jobs in addition, but I’m working out a plan, and that’s something.  I’ve been working on a new free-form crochet jewelry line which is really fun and streching my creative muscles in a satisfying way, and I’m thinking about building a light box for some better photography.  Then, I think I’ll divide my internet time strictly into business and pleasure.  A big part of my internet time now are the 400 blogs I subscribe to, which is excessive to say the least.  Fanatical, maybe.  I have food blogs, mommyblogs, friend’s blogs, craft blogs, music blogs, fashion blogs, design blogs.  It’s nuts.  It sort of came to a head the other day when I was walking with my friend Julia, telling her a story about a blog post, and I opened with, “so, I was reading the blog of this girl who kind of annoys me…”- !!  Why am I reading a blogger who annoys me?  Deleted.  Wish me luck. 

I’ve also been working on my new logo, and making my etsy shop and all my print materials match.  This is harder (for me) than it sounds.  But, soon it will be done!  Let me know what you think of it…

3 Responses to “the cobwebs of my brain”

  1. I hear you on the debate front- though I managed to endure it- albeit between sips of wine and slapping my head in frustration. Hopefully the soup will bring comfort. I’m glad you like my recipe! Thanks for the lovely shout-out. And vote! It’s the one piece of power we have to change things up! xox

  2. If you want some additional information about tea balls I found a site with several of these flowering teas: http://www.tealaden.com/flowering_teas/tea_drops.htm they have many different ones and information about brewing them.

  3. […] to chili Posted on October 9, 2008 by askthesky Remember the soup I was going to make?  I went a slightly different direction, and […]

Comments are closed.

