soup to chili

Remember the soup I was going to make?  I went a slightly different direction, and made:

Chili!  Here’s the (un)recipe:

two delicata squash, peeled and diced (pictured below, in case you’ve not seen one)

one pound ground beef (preferably, like mine- local, organic, free-range- if you’re near me, I recommend Hedgeapple’s farm), browned and drained

one can beans (we had black-eyed peas, so that’s what I used)

4 diced (big) tomatoes

one little can of Muir Glen Organic Tomato Sauce

Generous shakes of the following: garlic powder, freshly ground black pepper, cumin, tumeric, chili powder, salt

Put it all in the crock-pot, cook on low for 6 hours, or on high for 3 hours.  At the end of cooking, add about 1/4 cup of agave nectar (to sweeten) to taste to take the edge off the tomatoes. 

Serve with chips, eat with gusto.  Man, this was good. 

Comments are closed.

