blue…

I’ve heard people say that their iPods can sense the mood they’re in, and play accordingly, even though they are set on shuffle.  It’s never happened to me, until tonight.  The iPod has played nothing but the bluest of songs- Elliot Smith, Ryan Adams, Regina Spektor, Decemberists, Alison Krauss, Patti Griffin, The Weepies, Sam Cooke, Cassandra Wilson, you name it, nothing but blue, perfectly matching my mood.  Score one for technology. 

Sitting here knitting, knitting, knitting, in blue yarn on a boring project that will be for sale at the Holiday show, my mind is wandering into blue places.  Places where it’s shadowy, but quiet.  Sometimes you just want to stay in that place, you know?  That’s where I’m at. 

Sage, in her nearly 6 year-old wisdom, has been finely tuned into my mood, and has thusly been doling out hugs and compliments a-plenty, the best one being, “mom, you are a sweet strawberry, and you will be one tomorrow, too.” 

But, strawberries are red.  So, I’m not feeling so strawberry.  Blackberry, maybe. 

Blueberry, yes.   

Blue Apple Compote

Ingredients:

a bunch of apples your mom gave you (I’m guessing about 4 pounds), cored and chopped (I didn’t peel mine, but if peels offend you, by all means remove them)

4 sub-par vanilla beans your mom brought back from Mexico, meaning they are flavorful, but not big enough to scrape the seeds out

pumpkin pie spice, to taste

1/2 cupish water

agave nectar, to taste (I think I did about 1/4 cup at the beginning, then about that much again at the end)

about 2 big handfuls of frozen blueberries (I like the Trader Joe’s wild organic ones)

Instructions:

Mix all together except blueberries in the bowl of your slow cooker.  Cook on low for about 3 hours, or until the apples are soft but not falling apart, and your house smells like heaven.  Add the blueberries, cover and turn the cooker off.  Come back when you’re finished your chores, stir, taste, add agave/spices until it pleases you, given your blue, blue mood.  Serve with waffles, pancakes, pork, whatever floats your boat, sweets. 

I’ll feel brighter tomorrow, maybe even lavender.  Promise.

Comments are closed.

