mother of the year

In an attempt to be better about documenting things the children do (as I am the WORST at this), here’s some things I’d like to note about Ms. Sage, aged six.

She lately says, “how cool is that?” a lot, but not in the “Wow, that is really cool” way, rather as a question to see if I agree with her plan of action.  As in, “I’m gonna get the tape and THEN do my homework, Mom, how cool is that?”  And then I get to say, “Uh, not cool in the least.  Homework first.” 

Cause it’s all about the discipline at my house.  You have been warned. 

Also, a couple weeks ago, when winter was still hanging on firmly here in Baltimore, I took the kids for a walk in the chilly rain to the nearby park.  I remembered some crocus I had seen blooming, and I said to Sage that I’d show her a special surprise when we got to our destination- something amazing and lovely and magical.  As we walked on, she started guessing. 

“Is it a rocket?”

“I know!  It’s a giant mushroom!”

“Maybe it’s somebody’s dog or something.”

We got close to where the crocus patch was, and I pointed it out.  “See, the purple place up ahead?” 

She was excited now.  “Is that the thing?  Can I run up there?”

She did, and knelt down to touch the little tiny flowers poking up through the cold earth.  Zander and I caught up and he bent down to get a closer look, too. 

Sage turned back to me and said, “Well, Mom, I wouldn’t call this magical.”

I can’t wait until she’s 15.  Sigh.

2 Responses to “mother of the year”

  1. hahahahahahahahahaha

  2. christina Says:

    ummmmmmmmmmmmmm, i don’t even know what to say. i. just. can’t.

Comments are closed.

